Powered by Business High Point — Chamber of Commerce and the High Point Community Foundation.

Partners celebrate High Point educators

By Cinde Ingram

HIGH POINT — The words inspire, advocate, empower, tireless work and commitment were repeated as top High Point teachers were recognized with Extraordinary Educators Awards on Tuesday afternoon.

The High Point Community Foundation collaborated with the High Point Schools Partnership to honor one teacher from each of Guilford County Schools’ High Point campuses at a luncheon at High Point Country Club.

Each High Point principal selected a teacher from their school who demonstrates commitment to student success above and beyond expectations.

Picking only one educator was a tough call for principals to make, said Dawn Spencer, coordinator of HPSP. Each Extraordinary Educator received gift bags that contained $50 gift cards.

“There’s a new energy and a hope, an excitement for the future of High Point,” said Matt Thiel, co-chair of HPSP, noting the recent downtown redevelopment. “I want to see as much of that energy, that excitement, that revitalization flow into our schools … because I believe you cannot have a great community without great schools and you can’t have great schools without a great supporting community. We need to be lifting up our schools, supporting them, promoting them and congratulating them.”

High Point Community Foundation President Paul Lessard thanked teachers, administrators, school board members and other local government leaders in attendance for taking the time to care about education.

“In a society these days that’s become more and more self-focused, I think teachers stand as a great example of servant leadership,” Lessard said. “You’re not in it for the money or the fame, you’re in it for the kids.”

Teachers named as Extraordinary Educators include:

Allen Jay Elementary – Nicole Salter

Allen Jay Prep – Chris White

T. Wingate Andrews High School – Natalya Moore

Fairview Elementary – Aminata Payne

Ferndale Middle – Valerie McCain

Florence Elementary – Kara Mason

Kearns Academy – Forrest Littleton

Kirkman Park Elementary – Mary Nifong

High Point Central High School – Michael Holden

Johnson Street Global Studies – Coshenda Clark

Middle College at GTCC High Point – Afzal Khan

Montlieu Academy – Dana Harris

Northwood Elementary – Barb Collins

Oak Hill Elementary – Jakima Ledbetter

Oak View Elementary – Candace Scott

Parkview Village Elementary – Lakayla Allamby

Penn-Griffin School for the Arts – Lucinda Johnson

Pruette SCALE Academy – Donelle Lyon

Shadybrook Elementary – Laura Blythe-Goodman

Southwest Elementary – Wendy Kitley

Southwest Middle – John Anderson

Southwest High – Nita Canon

Triangle Lake Montessori – Andrea Rauber

Union Hill Elementary – Wendy Young

Welborn Academy – Andrea Emmanuel

Link to Article: https://hpenews.com/news/10433/partners-celebrate-high-point-educators/